Aller au contenu principal

    Update on the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses
    and Petrels (ACAP)

    Demander un document de réunion
    Numéro du document:
    B. Baker and T. Hewitt (Australia)
    Point(s) de l'ordre du jour

    The Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP) entered into force on Sunday 1 February 2004. Six countries (Australia, New Zealand, Ecuador, Spain, the Republic of South Africa, and the United Kingdom ) have ratified the Agreement, and another five have signed it (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, France and Peru). ACAP is expected to provide a major boost for the conservation of threatened seabirds. The first Meeting of the Parties is to be held in Hobart, Australia, on 10—12 November 2004. The agenda for this meeting is prescribed under Article VIII of the Agreement, and will principally address administrative matters. Issues to be discussed include adoption of rules of procedure; determining financial arrangements, a scale of contributions and a budget; establishment of a Secretariat for the Agreement; establishment of an Advisory Committee to provide expert advice to the Parties; and adoption of criteria to define emergency situations that require immediate action.